Mccqe1

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pianist

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a US medical graduate from canada taking QE1 in May. Does anyone know how it compares in difficulty or topics to USMLE 1/2?
thanks

Members don't see this ad.

I thought Canadian citizens who studied in the US, only had to do the LMCC instead of the MCCQUE. I was under the impression that we are treated the same as Canadian graduates in the Canadian matching process. Am I wrong?

shaydz said:
I thought Canadian citizens who studied in the US, only had to do the LMCC instead of the MCCQUE. I was under the impression that we are treated the same as Canadian graduates in the Canadian matching process. Am I wrong?

What is the 'MCCQUE'?

Do you mean the MCCQE Part I? You need to pass that and the MCCQE Part II to become a LMCC. The earliest you can take Part I is during your last year of medical school. You require 1 year of postgraduate training to take Part II.

Members don't see this ad :)
Yes, I meant the MCCQE part I. On another site (med student forum) I read that Canadian citizens who have studied in the US do not need to take the MCCQE exams as they are only for IMGs who studied elsewhere (not the US). The US students only need to take the LMCC part I exam.

Here is the site:
http://p084.ezboard.com/fpremed101frm21.showMessage?topicID=333.topic

The questions were answered by the moderator of the site, so I assume it's most likely correct. Although...who knows...maybe its wrong.

What are your thoughts, and may I ask if you know of any other sites that state that the MCCQEs are required for US students (canadian citizens) who are trying to go back to Canada. Thanks.