MCG or Penn State

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

whatisthis?

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I loved both schools when I interviewed there. I am a Georgia resident, so tuition-wise, MCG is a lot cheaper than Penn state. But, is it true that Penn State has a stronger research program?

Members don't see this ad.

MCG is a great school, but a lot of people who are not in the healthcare field seem to have never heard of the school. That frustrates me. :oops: I know I have to stop worrying about what other people think, but...

Which one would you pick if you were in my shoes?

Members don't see this ad :)
If you care about doing research later in life or going into academic medicine, you really should contact one of the research laboratories you're interested in or have a chat with them. When I was at my PSU interview, I was asked about my research and then he suggested that I contact a certain medical student who was doing something similar. Now I already have ideas for a joint venture research project.

Something like that may help to sway you to one side or the other between the schools if money is not a huge driving factor.

If I didn't care about research at all I'd go with MCG.

I had a similar decision as the OP, I chose Penn State over my own state schools(NY). Research wise Penn State is far superior and I really just fell in love with the school. They are building a brand new Cancer Institute on campus which will open Spring '08(just in time for clinical rotations) and just seem to have a lot of funding to improve their school(Something lacking from my undergrad institution). So what if I will be in debt an extra $80,000. Financing that over 25 years means an extra $600 or $700 a month? That to me is insignificant.