MCPHS

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sunshine daisy

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I am currently going through the application process for Optometry school and just recently interviewed at MCPHS. I have looked all over this forum for opinions from current MCPHS optometry students and haven't found much success.

I was hoping a current MCPHS student would stumble upon this post and give some insight into their daily experience as a student there. Do you enjoy the time you have spent there? Do you love or regret your decision? How are your professors? Also, do you feel you gain enough clinical experience?

Thank you in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 users
I am currently in my 3rd year here at MCP. I'm originally from the midwest, so this is a little bit of a change for me moving to Boston area. But this change has also been very rewarding. Like any other OD program there are difficulties such as class work, exams, studying, etc. But this is also a dream come true. This is the field that I was to be involved in no matter what difficulties may come my way. You truly learn something new each day and I have enjoyed my time here. I have learned a lot and made some amazing friendships with people from all over the US and Canada. The only thing that made MCP stand out for me was how they treated me like a person not just statistics of my grades on paper. I am not the greatest test taker, so my scores are average student but I pride myself on being outgoing and personable. I felt like this program was a good match for me because it has helped shape me into a well rounded person, with great knowledge and great bedside manner. MCP is also great at getting you clinic experience early. We have now been in clinic for a little over a year now and even went to schools and did screenings on kids our first year. So I feel like you gain ample amounts of clinical experience! They are grea