MD vs. Family??

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

justanotherjerseygirl

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all- As a hopeful med student I am starting to ponder how my life will change once I begin the long journey ahead. As I sit and read all that you have to say, I start to question whether the saying "yes" to med school will mean saying "no" to relationships, marriage and a family for the next ten years. Can people do it all in med school, or is marriage a and family out of the question until residency is over? I guess that I am asking for the advice of all those Non-trad. out there. I've been out of school for awhile and my views on the marriage and family have changed considerably in the past few years. Anyone have any answers?

Members don't see this ad.

Never say never!!! Family, relationship, etc.. are EXTREMELY important! You will need them for comfort & support when the grind of medical school begins.

The key is communication! Explain to your family what you have chosen to do & what it entails. Talk, Talk, Talk!!! Get their thoughts & give your thoughts !

Eventough you will become extremely busy & your family understands that b/c you all talked about it, a few minutes or a couple of hours of your time will still mean the world of difference. Whoever said that quality time has to be hours & hours of your time!! It worked for me!
biggrin.gif
Your career is very important, but it shouldn't dominate your entire life! Good luck to you!!

Rob
WesternU/COMP MS III

[This message has been edited by Future DOc (edited 05-31-2000).]