Med school after PhD

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Shyam L. Sunder

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all,
This is a wonderful site, many selfless, sharing people, nice to see that...
I am a PhD student at UCB in Endocrinology and am aspiring to pursue an MD in Endocrinology. I want to be a practicing endocrinologist. I would like to talk to anyone who has a similar background, i.e. PhD and applying to med school ...
to see their take on things.

Members don't see this ad.

I doubt you will find too many like yourself, but good luck!

Actually, there are quite a few like yourself who went the PhD route and then decided to pursue medical school. It is definitely feasible... my lab partner here at UCSF did this. I think the experience and publications that result from PhD work can contribute greatly toward your application. You just have to explain why you are interested in medicine, your goals, and how you came to this decision. I wish you luck! :D

Members don't see this ad :)
This is the route I am taking. I am presently on the high priority waitlist at Upstate Medical Center which is a good sign that I will be in med school in the fall. I think that grad school helped me a lot in that it gave me the opportunity to boost my GPA, publish and gain some life experiences ( grow up) before applying to med school. And as many can tell you anything that can help your application to stand out of the crowd is a positive thing. You must be ready for the most obvious question you will be asked, which is "Why do you want to go to medical school after having gone the research route?".

Boog PhD 96' :cool:

Thanks all
Boog, i would love to get in touch with you and talk to u about this sometime, can i email u sometime