Medical School for the non-traditional applicant - w/o all prerequisites

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Anonymous5678

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have wanted to be a doctor for as long as I can remember. I was constantly deterred from pursuing this while in college from family members and friends and ultimately decided against pursuing it. However, everything brings me back to it which is why, despite pushback, I am pursuing it.

Long story short - I graduated undergrad a few years ago with a behavior science degree in health care management and I have an MBA. I have completed classes such as bio 1 & 2, cell biology and statistics, and various psychology and sociology classes, all of which I received an A. I have not taken chemistry or physics.

Currently, I am being tutored for the MCAT, which I plan on taking late spring.

I do not have extensive volunteer experience, but I do have some. I currently work for a medical group where I am responsible for training the new physicians on their EMR. Because of this, I do one-on-one support with them. Just this year I have trained 25 doctors. My department is responsible for understanding and implementing all of the inner workings of our medical group. I know it is not the same, but it is wishful thinking that this would be considered by admissions?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Why take the MCAT when you haven't taken all the pre-reqs? Postpone the test and take chemistry, physics, and, most importantly, biochemistry.

Reactions: 8 users
Why take the MCAT when you haven't taken all the pre-reqs? Postpone the test and take chemistry, physics, and, most importantly, biochemistry.