Medical withdrawal

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

agk1216

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I think I may have a unique situation. I was a community college student who transferred to a large public school and unfortunately I've fallen ill to the point that i'll no longer be able to continue my studies here. I still want to continue my education however while I'm getting treatment back home (so I'd transfer to a small college back at home). I'm wondering how bad would it look when I apply to med school given that I had medical problems and then transferred yet again?

Members don't see this ad.

So I think I may have a unique situation. I was a community college student who transferred to a large public school and unfortunately I've fallen ill to the point that i'll no longer be able to continue my studies here. I still want to continue my education however while I'm getting treatment back home (so I'd transfer to a small college back at home). I'm wondering how bad would it look when I apply to med school given that I had medical problems and then transferred yet again?
Officially withdraw from your current school, go home and get treatment, then resume your education when you're ready to academically excel. Getting sick and doing the right thing to take care of yourself, even taking some time away from school, is not a bar to future success in the med school application process.

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)
This is very common and it won't hurt you.

Withdrawing for medical reasons is a sign of maturity and prudence. Far better than fools who try to bull their way through school and end up cratering their GPAs.

Reactions: 2 users
Thank you all. How bad would it look not going back to the same school though?

Thank you all. How bad would it look not going back to the same school though?