Medicine is not for me, what do I do now

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted943944

I'm a second year student. During first year I had my struggles, but I generally enjoyed what I was learning and felt excited for the future. Slowly over the second semester things started changing for me and by the end of second semester I could barely read two sentences in my textbooks before having a full blown panic attack. I barely passed my classes. I always had the optimistic outlook that medicine would be my job (one I really enjoy and would be good at) but not let it consume my entire life. I could have picked another health care profession, finished school sooner, and I don't think I would have been unhappy in a different healthcare role. The thought of continuing three more years of this and three years of residency sickens me. Third semester has just started for me, I don't enjoy any of my classes and I am really unhappy being here. At this point I don't care about my student loans, my concern is that there's nothing I can do with a BS in biology and one year of medical school on my resume. Not sure if I would even consider going to another health program either as I am genuinely sick of academia.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited by a moderator:
You need to look at the bigger picture. Things usually get better during clinical years.

Reactions: 5 users
You need to look at the bigger picture. Things usually get better during clinical years.
My first two years were truly awful. I seriously considered dropping out after how bad it got. Starting third year made the difference honestly.

OP, it sounds like you have some underlying mental health stuff possibly clouding your thoughts here. Maybe look into getting help for that. Med school is a long grind.

Reactions: 7 users
Members don't see this ad :)