Meeting prerecs for non-traditional students

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ceb2022

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am planning to apply to joint PhD-MD programs in the next year. I have completed most of the traditional prerequisite courses, but not all. Several schools acknowledge that applicants can complete prerequisite competencies by means outside of the traditional undergraduate coursework, such as interdisciplinary courses that emphasize biological and chemical competencies, or completing bench research with advisors.

My background: I studied nutrition science and became a registered dietitian. I then completed my masters and became a physician assistant. My cumulative GPA and science GPA is around 3.96 for both undergrad and grad school. I will have to take the MCAT and retake my GRE since it is out of date, but for my previous GRE I scored around the 90th percentile in all sections. I think in many ways I will be a competitive applicant. However, I am trying to decide if I need to complete a few undergraduate courses (during the pandemic) to assure myself that I have met the prereqs, or if I have demonstrated mastery of the basic science competencies through my graduate courses.

The courses I technically have not completed are the second semester of biology with lab and the second semester of inorganic chemistry with lab. I feel like my graduate courses as a PA have well-covered the biology competencies, but I am not sure if admissions committees will see it this way. I am not sure if I have technically met the inorganic chemistry competencies, either.