Jun 13, 2015
Status
  1. Pre-Medical
Hello all,

I graduated with a bachelor's of science in neuroscience and completed the pre-med curriculum in 2016 from a top-ranked research university in the US. Yes, I participated in research but was never published or anything. I was also a college athlete. Unfortunately, during that time I was struggling with what would later be diagnosed as alcohol use disorder. I was a full blown alcoholic for my four years of college but I was still able to graduate with a 3.0 average.

With my grades at a very sub-par level as far as med school was concerned, I took a job in the biotech field and moved to a different part of the country from where I grew up. Here, I started a relationship with a person that made me feel more confident. I didn't quit drinking, but I cut back substantially. With my newfound sense of optimism I decided to enroll at the local college and figured if I could take a bunch of upper-level science courses for a year (and a summer) and ace them all, I'd be able to get into the post-bacc at the local medical school and later get into med school there.
Well, for a year it worked out great! I wasn't just an A student, but I was consistently among the top 5 students in each of my classes as far as grade percentages were concerned. I felt pretty confident that I'd be able to get into med school. Unfortunately, I had another mental illness that reared its ugly head and that is bipolar disorder.