Midwestern-AZ SMP Discussion

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Flushot

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
EDIT 2/15/10 - Made some updates based on the updates to the class of 2010.

After the 10th unique PM I have received about MWU's SMP in Glendale, AZ, I have decided to make a thread hopefully answering any initial and common questions future applicants may have. I don't go down here too often, so if you don't see an immediate response, feel free to PM me and drag me back to this thread.

Here's some basic info from their website:
http://www.midwestern.edu/
http://mwunet.midwestern.edu/

Master of Biomedical Science (MBS) - 2 years, thesis
Master of Arts in Biomedical Sciences (MA) - 1 year, non-thesis

2009 will be the inaugural class for the MA program. I am currently a student in the MA program, so this will mainly be about the MA program.

Application process: Require Bachelors degree and professional school exam (GRE, MCAT, DAT, PCAT, OAT)

They take about 2 weeks to a month to respond to your application, depending on how early you sent it in. Earlier = faster response generally.

The response will either be rejection or a request to schedule a telephone interview. The interview lasts about 30 minutes and you will speak directly to the director of the program, Dr. Bell or another faculty member.

Questions they might ask are: What are your professional goals, why Midwestern, etc. Nothing too tricky. Make sure to have questions for the interviewer.

Following the interview, notices will generally be sent out 1 week later. Feel free to check up with the biomed office to find out.