molecular biology studying

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mRNA

Sigma Chi
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Has anyone taken molecular biology? I'm studying for a test in it now. This stuff is so boring to study for. The exams are all essay and we basically have to memorize these experimental procedures then go spit them out on the test. There are some diagrams that go along with the text that make it less boring, but most of it is just like memorizing a lab procedure. I have a high B in the class now, but every time I study for these tests I'm angry because the material is so dry. ahh :)

Members don't see this ad.

Be glad you got an easy professor! My molec bio professor was obsessed with semantics and managed to make the most elementary molecular bio material sound like graduate course material... and his exams, omg his exams were murder. I had this strange feeling like I wanted to die after each exam. The course had the highest failure rate in my major. Ok.. done venting.

;)

I actually need to take molecular bio for USC this summer. However, due to scheduling conflicts, they allowed me to take Cell Bio instead. For those who have taken both, what exactly is the freakin difference? and which is harder? I heard cell bio is harder so am I in for the worst time during the summer?

Members don't see this ad :)
Cell bio is more the study of cell physiology like cell division, etc. Molecular bio is the interactions between various cell components like protein-protein and protein-DNA interactions. There is a fair amount of overlap between the two, especially if its an intro course.

I'm studying for my molecular bio midterm this very moment..

I'm studying for a cell biology final tomorrow morning...

Chugging a case of Coca-Cola Blak tonight so I look like this in the morning --> :scared:

fujicake said:
I'm studying for my molecular bio midterm this very moment..