Dismiss Notice
Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.

Moonlighting

Discussion in 'General Residency Issues' started by ccthedoc, Nov 28, 2005.

1. ccthedoc

ccthedoc Junior Member

Resident [Any Field]
    Hi, I am a second year resident and my program does not currently have any moonlighting opportunities. However, our current system of night coverage will be ending soon. Several of my fellow residents and I are interested in moonlighting to earn some extra cash. I was told that we would need our own malpractice insurance.

Does anyone know how to go about this and how reasonable this (the cost) would be? Is it possible to just add additional coverage to our current malpractice insurance?

What have others done in the past and what are people doing now? We would really appreciate your input and advice!

Thanks!

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. Annette

Annette gainfully employed
    Lifetime Donor Classifieds Approved 10+ Year Member

Attending Physician
    A lot of places that hire residents for moonlighting will provide malpractice insurance, or hook you up with an insurance company. Make certain that you know what kind of insurance it is, though. Occurance vs claims. With claims, you will need tail insurance.

4. Von Hohenheim

Von Hohenheim pioneer
    5+ Year Member

What an interesting post. Any chance you could explain some of those terms? Thanks.

5. f_w

f_w 1K Member
    5+ Year Member

- you will need a medical license
    - you will need malpractice coverage. Typically the facility/physician group hiring you will get their regular carrier to cover you as locums. Be very careful that for every time you provide services you receive a letter/fax from the insurer that you are covered for a particular time period
    - your residency programs policy won't cover you