Moving Cross Country

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SCDoc

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am interested in doing a residency somewhere out west - California, Arizona.... Not really sure where yet. I am currently a 3rd yr medical student in South Carolina and am thinking of going into pediatrics. My question is, how difficult is it for a student to get into a program so far away? I will not be able to do an away elective at any of these schools because of scheduling difficulties and financial reasons. Any advice or thoughts? Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

How are you going to interview at these far-off places? And although it is certainly not required that you rotate somewhere in order to match, it's generally considered helpful. If you are stuck in place geographically, it's harder to match elsewhere. Not impossible, just harder.

Getting interviews will depend on how good of a candidate that you are going into peds.

As far as distance goes, I'm not sure what Febrifuge means when he asks "How are you going to interview at these far-off places?"--just fly around and interview where you want. I just finished up with my interview season and flew everywhere that I wanted and did not limit myself by geography. Just be sure to take out extra loans.

As for away rotations, you can only do what you can do. Think of it this way, you would probably only be able to do 1-2 away rotations anyway if you were able to do any. I'm sure you will be applying to more than just 1-2 programs. So, if you had done away rotations, they probably wouldn't have influenced the other programs that you would look at where you didn't do an away rotation. In short, if you can't do away rotations, I wouldn't worry about it too much.