My chance?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Jainie

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,
I'm new to the forum and would like to see hi to all!

I took the GRE's a few weeks ago and got a very low score (920) :(
I hate standardized tests and can't seem to test well on them. My dilemma is that I have graduated with a Bachelors in Interdisciplinary Studies with a focus on international health. I am currently working at a non-profit organization that focuses on malaria eradication. I had planned to apply for my MPH for the Fall 2009 semester; however with these scores, I'm very reluctant in doing so. My mistake is that I only studied for a month and took the GRE's too close to the deadlines of the schools I want to apply to (January and February 2009 deadlines). My GPA was 3.68, I've had 2 years of work experience (1 year and 3 months of public health work experience). What are my chances of applying to George Washington Univ - Global Health program, Johns Hopkins - International Health, Columbia Mailman, NYU International Community Health, University of Maryland -Community Health? I feel like i'm in bad shape because of my gre scores. I really wanted to apply this year, but if my scores are going to ruin my chances of getting in to any of these schools, then maybe its best to apply for 2010?

Thanks for your help!

Members don't see this ad.

Since most schools recommend a minimum score of 1000, I think it would be worth it to re-take the test before you apply. It may seem rushed but it's the only thing holding you back and it wouldn't hurt to re-take it. If you don't, they might wonder why you didn't.

But if your willing to pay the application fees and take a chance with what you have, it might help to write a letter explaining your trouble with standardized tests. That way you can point out the strong components of your application package as a testament to your abilities. :)