My Situation & Plan - Please Advise

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

HTX

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I know, another "What Are My Chances" thread, but I hope the SDN community can provide me with some advice and direction based on my situation. Please bear with me as this post is quite lengthy (scroll to the end for the summary)...

Background: I graduated in May 2009 from UT-Austin with a BBA. My undergraduate GPA was an horrendous 2.54. Long story short, I allowed myself to be distracted from my studies when I could and should have been more focused and dedicated - my fault and I'm trying to overcome that. Since graduating, I have been working (self-employed) and am currently working on an MBA in Health Care Administration (GPA is currently 3.6). I have always been interested in pursuing medicine (took three years of Health Science classes in high school, including two years of shadowing in various departments at a local hospital). Over the past year my grandparents have been in and out of the hospital, and the entire experience made me explore the possibility of medical school. After evaluating my life goals I am firmly committed to becoming a doctor, but need advice on whether I am on the right track with my plan to become a competitive applicant to US MD & DO schools.

Pre-med & MCAT: I will begin taking pre-med classes in January 2011, and my projected course schedule will look like this:

Spring 2011 - General Chemistry I, Physics I, and Statistics
Summer 2011 - Biology I and General Chemistry II
Fall 2011 - Organic Chemistry I, Physics II, and maybe Calculus (previously taken)
Spring 2012 - Biology II, Organic Chemistry II, General Biochemistry
Summer 2012 - Anatomy & Physiology

I can realistically raise my cumulative undergraduate GPA to a 3.2 overall if I can manage about a 3.7 science GPA.