Navigating fourth year with low board scores

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

halpm33

Reaction score
I am looking for guidance on how to approach my fourth year. I scored in the 450-500 range on level 1 and am looking to match community IM to become a hospitalist. I will not be taking step 1 [tried studying for it simultaneously and was not scoring well]. I am currently in third year focusing on my rotations/ level 2. Students from my school typically go back to their home state and complete fourth year rotations there. However, I was wondering if it would be better to do aways at potential sites I hope to match with my scores? I have heard people say this is risky because you dont want to leave a bad impression.

I was also wondering if residency explorer is an accurate tool to use to see if you are competitive for a residency? If so, is it worth it to apply to to programs where you are in the lower 25% of matched applicants in regards to board scores.

Lastly, what else can I be doing right now to make my application competitive for residency other than focusing on level 2. Should I be networking? Should I try to get more research? [I have one manuscript publication but played a small role].

Members don't see this ad.

No, doing auditions is plain dumb. One month where they expect you to be top notch and kiss ass the entire time then daft 29 a new random attending doesn't like you and you go unmatched at that site

Just focus on getting strong letters and improving on your next step exam