NBDE part 1 results and breakdown

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jigabodo

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
First of all, I just want to say thanks to SDN. I couldn't have done it without all these useful information.

I took part 1 on 7/19/10. I studied a little bit over 2 months and put in about 5 hours each day. That's about 300+ hours total. The week before the exam I did nothing but old tests pretty much.

Raw scores:
- Anatomical science: 86
- Biochem/physio: 84
- Micro/path: 78
- DA/occlusion: 90

Composite score: 93

What I used to study:
- First aid for the NBDE, 1x
- Dental decks, 2x
- Old lecture notes/texbooks from various subjects
- Internet

How I studied:
I started out with the first aid book, which I thought wasn't particularly helpful. There are also some mistakes in it so beware. When I was done with first aid I moved on to the decks, and did it twice, as detailed as I can. Personally, I like decks a lot better because it explained things. I tried to go through everything as thorough as possible, and whenever I got confused about something, I would always refer it back to my old texts/notes/internet. It does take a while to do things this way though.

If I were to do it again (and thank God I don't need to), I would probably start with the decks first before going through first aid. First aid has a lot of facts without much explanations, which I thought I would have an easier time remembering had I gone through the decks beforehand, since the decks offer pretty good explanations.

The old/practice tests which I've gone through:
- Released exams: 1989, 1991, 1998, 2000, 2002, 2004, N and I-M . These are probably the most helpful.
- Crack the boards: 3 tests, and I get 89 to 91 on all the practice tests. These are a little bit harder than the actual NBDE.