Need advice, cold feet and changing my mind.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ffmedic550

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello this is my first post here. I took the nontraditional route I never thought I would ever go to college (or could even pass classes there) and had no direction in my life for a long time. I started as an EMT then I was a paramedic for 5 years, went back to school for premed and did the whole application process. I was wait listed and didn't think I was getting in this cycle. I began to look into other options I had never even considered, such as PA and NP. Two weeks ago I got that unexpected acceptance for DO school and I was thrilled. I have about two weeks to move and find a place to live across country.

After seeing the other options that exist I am really wishing I just did the NP route because for me it would only be about 3 years start to finish, not to mention I can continue to work and have somewhat of a life while in school. I can specialize in emergency medicine as an NP or DO so I know Id be happy either way. The debt would be significantly less and in a year I could work as an RN making around $75000 (while in NP school). Plus I could stay here, keep my home and be close to friends and family. I am realizing that its going to be at least 8 years before I have a life again and will have to take out huge amounts of loans if I keep my DO seat as opposed to 3 years and less debt for NP. Another issue thats been weighing on me is Ive watched my friends get married and buy there own houses and I really would like to do that soon.