Need advice from current residents who had less than stellar Step 1 scores

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Jan185

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So, I got a 189 on step 1. I high passed all my preclinical classes and am starting off my 3rd year clerkships, but the wind has gotten taken out of my sails. I've always tested way above average on standardized exams, and was not expecting this at all. I thought I studied my butt off, was scoring about 60% on Uworld so I wasn't expecting to hit it out of the park but certainly not this. I wonder if I would rather have failed it. I've always wanted to be a surgeon, but am now wondering if I will even be able to match into regular medicine (which I have zero interest in... NO OFFENSE to you guys out there that are!).

I realize that I have a very uphill battle in front of me, and that its virtually impossible to get into any competitive residency with this kind of score, that barely passing is a red flag to program directors, etc etc. I'm looking for SPECIFIC input, guidance, or anecdotes from current residents who ended up and made it through the same position I'm currently in. I'm working my butt off in clerkships and am going to take step 2 early, obviously. I am considering taking a year off for research to add to my CV (was doing ortho research previously--HAH that worked out). The student advising at my school is pretty crappy so I'd rather get REAL advice from someone who went through it. Thanks so much for your responses and kindness.

Members don't see this ad.

I wonder if I would rather have failed it. I've always wanted to be a surgeon, but am now wondering if I will even be able to match into regular medicine (which I have zero interest in... NO OFFENSE to you guys out there that are!).

Oh no you din't!?!?

I actually quit reading your post after this part. I hope you don't Match into anything...ever.

Oh no you din't!?!?