Nov 9, 2010
Status
Hello,
I'm currently a senior in UCLA.
Having dream of becoming dentist since my highschool, I've been in tremendous stress as becoming senior..

I came to US when I was 11 and became illegal since 9/11 happened. I really want to become dentist and am still waiting for any immigration reform that can give me hope of getting permanent residency that can help me to get in and pay for tuition for dental school.

At school, I have gpa of 3.4 (2 W's and A's and B's) and haven't taken DAT
yet. I am currently a president of student org, and got 120hrs of volunteering at dental office during summer.

Due to tutoring 4 children and making money to pay for rent and etc., I am currently having hard time managing my schedule and to study. My parents are working very hard to pay for my tuition and I've started to tutor kids since my sophomore year to help myself out financially without help from my parents besides the tuition, which is costly for my family.

After graduating, I have no plans and can't work or anything due to my current status. I would like to ask for any advice of what can I do during my gap years while i'm waiting and would really appreciate any help.

Also I would like to ask if it's okay for me to take DAT after graduating....and if there is any possible way of raising my chance of getting into dental school with my currently gpa and experience.

THANK YOU.

Aug 6, 2009
Status
Pre-Dental
Hello,
Having dream of becoming dentist since my highschool, I've been in tremendous stress as becoming senior..

I came to US when I was 11 and became illegal since 9/11 happened. I really want to become dentist and am still waiting for any immigration reform that can give me hope of getting permanent residency that can help me to get in and pay for tuition for dental school.

yet. I am currently a president of student org, and got 120hrs of volunteering at dental office during summer.