Need Advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CherieRed

Reaction score
I did not enter pharmacy school and I did horribly on the pcat. Still I want to study pharmacy.

I have finished my bachelors degree in biomedical sciences with all the pre requisites that most pharmacy schools ask for. Since I graduated I worked for several pharmaceutical industries but I really want to study again and finish what I wanted from the very beginning.

I need advice. Does completing a certification in pharmacy technician help get into pharmacy school? Im thinking they’ll see a real interest from my part and I’ll have some pharmacy experience to add.

Any advice is welcome, thank you in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

Hi @CherieRed! First, I would identify the areas you need to work on and set a timeline for yourself so that you can apply next year should you choose to pursue pharmacy. You mentioned that you did not do well on the PCAT so this is certainly something you can work on. What are the subjects you need to work on? How many practice tests have you done? Those are some questions to ask yourself before sitting for a PCAT exam. Getting a pharmacy technician certificate will help you gain work experience and makes you a stronger applicant. However, it is not required to get into pharmacy school. Most students in my class did not have a pharmacy technician certification when entering pharmacy school. Furthermore, you mentioned that you worked for several pharmaceutical industries which also counts towards work experience. As long as you identify what you need to work on, then you can start early and be ready when application season rolls around again.

Best of luck!

Reactions: 1 user