Need for some advice: DIY Postbacc or program for a career changer

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

medevacpilot

Reaction score
Hi everyone!

I am currently an air ambulance pilot/flight instructor. I got my BA in History and Public Health. I have been an EMT for 8 years and have volunteered with hospice patients for the last 6 years. In undergrad, I was a Biology major on the Pre-med track. I took some science classes of which some I withdrew and some I withdrew failed. So I changed my major to something health-related and finished with a cumulative gpa of 2.95. My transcript for the last two years shows an upward trend. The reason that I had to withdraw so many times on my transcript: my freshman year my grandmother died, then 2 months later my dad. My junior year, my mom followed. I worked three jobs while taking classes in order to survive. My science GPA(1.39) suffered and I closed the door of becoming a Physician. Recently, that spark ignited especially with covid and experiencing rural medicine. I am now working to find a path to medical school. I was accepted to Penn's LPS prehealth core sciences program and Drexel's PostBac program. After looking at the cost, I am concerned I will have a repeat of my undergrad years. If I choose a postbac program, I will deplete my savings without a guarantee of doing well or even having shot at a medical school.

Question: Should I attend one of those structured Postbac program or do a DIY program at Community College or do a second bachelors? I want the best shot I can get at medical school. I am not concerned with MD or DO; I just want to practice medicine. I am a dual EU/US citizen so I am open to EU schools, Caribbean, UK, and Australian schools. Any advice is deeply appreciated. Thank you in advance.

Members don't see this ad.