need some advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

yuvi

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
hey everyone
i'm in my third year of college. i just transferred into rutgers (newark) after finishing 42 credits in my previous college. This is my second semester here and i am picking up my pace but because i took two semsters off (got married:love: ) i've had to work harder. I did horrible in high school but i maintained a 2.5 gpa in my previous college. I am doing much better in this college now. My question to you all is, when is the right time to take your DAT? I've planned on taking it around august/september this year but i'm not sure if that is right. Also, when is the last date to fill out an application for dental school. I have heard that you have to do it one year before you graduate but i'm not sure.

Members don't see this ad.

you dont want to wait till the last date to apply.
if you are serious about dental school, you should apply in May/June. It is tough to do so when you are married cos otherwise, i would suggest you use ur summer time to study and take the DAT around August. You have to pull your GPA a lot higher though.

I have several questions for you.
Why dentistry?
How could you manage time with family and education?

i'm only 21, and i don't have any children yet, so i have plenty of time to study. My husbands going to start his residency(Med student) soon so he helps me out alot. I work with my mother who is a dentist and that's where i found my future to be. i have only completed 55 credits yet and have to finish 69 more. So i have a while to go, i don't think i have to apply so early do i?

Members don't see this ad :)
Hi,

What ecdoesit means is that during an application cycle, you want to apply in June.

For example, if you are looking to get into dental school for September 2006, you should apply in June 2005.