Need Some Help!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Westward Lord

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I created this new thread because I believe I have a unique situation.

By the end of this Fall semester, I will have a 3.2 GPA (which although is above the requirement for most AuD programs, it's still low) and I made a 960 on the old GRE but I am taking it again in hopes of making at least 1100. I will have relatively good recommendation letters, two from professors and one from a practicing audiologist. I worked and observed with this audiologist at his clinic last summer (2010) and the summer before (2009), where I learned how to clean hearing aids, use an audiometer, etc. I know I will have a good personal statement because I am a good writer. I guess it's safe to say that I'm a bit below the average AuD applicant.

Unfortunately, because of the competitiveness of the field, I know I can't exactly get into top level schools like Iowa, Washington, or Purdue, etc. I am interested in clinical work versus research. My dream is to one day have my own clinic. I am looking for kind of lower level clinical programs that will give me a better chance of getting admission.

Schools I'm considering include:

U of North Texas
U of Maryland
Towson
U of Arkansas
Bloomsburg
Texas Tech
Oklahoma U
and possibly more

Realistically, I just wanna get into any school. Initially I had aimed for higher level (I think) programs like UT Dallas, U of Pittsburgh, Gallaudet. I realized that it doesn't matter what school I get an AuD from, as long as I get it. I have been doing my homework, considering the list of accredited programs on ASHA's site and talking to my professors. I am a serious student and I know for a fact audiology is what I want to do. Any help would be appreciated.