New leaf, but now what

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

K015h1k

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
hey guys, i'm a 25 year old, bangladeshi, male, non-traditional student. i am the first generation in my entire family to go to school in america and graduate from college. i graduated with a bachelor's in autumn of 2012 and returned to college in spring 2014 for my first semester as a non-traditional student.

as an undergrad i had 2.6 cumulative gpa. things were bad. like many others, there were non-school related factors that affected my well being and this affected my ability to do well and desire to succeed. for instance, as an undergrad i took general chemistry a total of 4 times. i dropped the class 3 times and finally passed the last time with a d+.

fast forward a few years...

recently, i quit my job at morgan stanley and returned to school in spring 2014 because the only thing I can ever see my self doing for the rest of my life is helping others as a physician. having a big boy job and working a 9-5 doing something i hated was a slap to my face that really woke me up. i was very nervous quitting my job and coming back to school, but i also knew i had a lot of will to succeed. i took general chemistry 1 and biology 1 this past semester. i received an A in general chemistry 1 and a B+ in biology 1.

i now have the confidence and belief that i will excel as a non-traditional student and get grades that would have gotten me into medical school if i had done this well as an undergrad. i will continue to take the pre-recs for medical school and should be ready to apply around spring 2015.

the question is, WHAT NOW? i firmly believe that a goal without a plan is just wishful thinking...
- i don't think i have the ability to get into a medical school in the states with a 2.6 cumulative gpa (what do you guys think?).