Nightmare: my job won't let me interview for medical school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Signifier

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a teacher with Teach for America. My district contract says that I get 6 personal days, and they can only be for extreme stuff- death, birth, quarantine (QUARANTINE) or "business that can only be handled that one day, but must be signed off on by the Superintendent."

This wouldn't have been a problem last year, where I was at a dysfunctional school and no administration really minded if you left (I took a personal day to visit and observe at another school, for instance).

But this year, I was transferred to a high-performing school with a cut-throat, super "coach-like" principal who works by the books, all the time. I asked her, early on, if I could take a day to go to a friend's wedding (to test the waters) and she refused as it's not in contract.

It looks like I have two options: decline a lot of interview offers and only go to the top, top ones by using up sick days... or try to go to them all, miss a lot of work, and generate a toxic environment. I never thought I'd be upset to get interview offers. But it seems that each one will bring with it a lot of stress. I'm not sure what to even say... I imagine my principal will not be happy with me desiring to leave after my first year to become a doctor.

(BTW: I can't just quit my job, as I have a lot of debt and I also need medical coverage which my school provides.)

Sorry for mind-dumping on these forums- feel free to coolstorybro me etc., but if anyone can provide just a word of advice, I wouldn't mind that either.

Members don't see this ad.

Have you considered another school transfer? It seems like it's not the program that's holding you back but the administrative staff.

You are gonna have to quit sometime once you are accepted.

Members don't see this ad :)