No friends in medical school - is it OK to be a loner?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CarlosKleiber

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a first year medical student - and basically have not made any (meaningful) friends thus far and it doesn't seem like there are any classmates that is interested in becoming my friend either. My class size is about 110 - and I just haven't met anyone that has enough in common with me to be a close friend.

Some reasons for this are obvious -

1) I am an Asian immigrant (Korean), and almost everyone else in my class is white - so there is this cultural difference. Even the few other Asians (non-Korean) in my class don't have much in common with me. We get along, but don't establish rapport very well.

2) I HATE the bar/drinking/loud music party scene - which is what all my med school social events has all been. I stopped going after the first week. I rather stay at home and play computer games late into the night (Nerdy - I know).

3) I simply don't have much free time. Med school has been intense - and my schedule is basically school ==> few hours of gaming ==> studying ===> sleep. Also - I very much prefer studying by myself - other people simply distracts me and I get nothing done.

4) Finally, there are very few student groups I can join on campus with whatever little free time I have. I won't disclose my school, but it is a southern state school with a small campus and a small student body. Not much really going on...

Back in undergrad (which had a HUGE and diverse student body) - I had a small group of very close friends and they had a lot in common with me. We did everything together. In med school there doesn't seem to be these kind of people that would click with me.