No volunteer, but have clinical exp. Delay app?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

konli

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I'm currently studying to take the MCAT on april 4th. I'm a senior, graduating in may.

Current GPA:
cGPA: 3.64 sGPA: 3.485

4.0 Freshman, C in Ochem sophomore year, C in vertebrate physiology junior year, all other grades are B or above. A- in Organic Qualitative Analysis (upper division ochem focusing on lab)

All science courses have a lab.

My ECs aren't stellar.
Performance choir - 9 years
Member of a few clubs on campus (chem club, bio club, pre-med club, doesn't round me out much)
Research Intern - San Diego Zoo (paid - 400 hours, with powerpoint presentation of findings to zoo staff and professors)
Hospital Clinical Quality Intern - Safe Surgery Auditing (paid - 400 hours - with presentation of findings to lead hospital staff)
Facilitated negotiations for purchase of [Company] surgical equipment for local hospital between hospital president and [Company] representative (removing company name for privacy reasons)
Starting to participate in a homeless ministry.
Shadowing experience: ER physician - 1 day (6 hour shift), Family Physician 1 day - (8 hour shift).

After graduation I'm hoping to get a Scribe position. I've applied and been called back for an interview at a local hospital near home.

I haven't done any clinical volunteering. One question i have is do you think the paid internship at a hospital along with my coming scribe job :)xf:) would be sufficient?

I'm already taking at least a year off if I apply this cycle, but I'm wondering if my lack of volunteer experience and community outreach (which i'm working on this semester) would seriously affect my chances.
My top school is University of Minnesota (my state school, while i'm at undergrad in california).

Options: