Non-Psych Major Clinical Psychology Applicant, seeking any advice offered

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

california_bears

Reaction score
Hello all,

I will try to keep my post brief, but there are many variables involved and brevity is not one of my strong suits.

I am a senior in my final year of a top ranked public university in California majoring in Rhetoric. My GPA is currently around 3.5, and I anticipate graduating with a 3.6 (hopefully). I did transfer from a community college in my sophomore year, but had a similar GPA.

Although previous to this year I had my eye on a career in the legal field, I recently discovered that Clinical Psychology was a much better fit for my interests and personality. Given that I have no research experience in psychology and have only taken 3 courses in psychology, how should I make myself competitive for a PHD program in psychology?

Through reading the forums and books on the subject, I have a basic plan for now but am open to any suggestions or improvements to this plan. After graduating in 2020, I would apply for a one year terminal masters in General Psychology which gives me the opportunity to write a thesis and get research experience. I am also currently applying for an RA positions available that would accept a remote researcher (if that is even possible, but given COVID I thought I might as well try). I would then apply for a PHD in California as well as across the nation.

Thank you for any advice or encouragement you have to offer me. Hope everyone is doing well in this crazy time!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited: