Non-Trad. considering optometry

This forum made possible through the generous support of
SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bluesfan

UMSL Class of 2014
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a 34 wife and mother of two (4 year old and 22 month old) who is applying for optometry school entering in fall 2009. I would like to know if any of you have any insights you could share with me, especially if you were also a non-traditional student with kids. My biggest concern is missing out on time with my children but I am entering the optometry field assuming that I will be able to provide a better life for my family and have a rewarding career for myself.

I have a Masters in Public Health and have worked in the field for 10 years. I enjoy what I do but I am not fulfilled. I have researched many degree fields and think that optometry is a great fit for me. I originally had the desire to go to medical school but I am concerned about the extra years of training after school and the time away from my kids. I don't want to miss out on their entire childhood!

I have very good friends of mine who are optometrists and who have told me that I would make a great optometrist. Two are practicing optometrists in Atlanta and one is a current 4th year optometry student.

My other big concern is financial. Although I currently only work part-time, I am concerned about the lack of income during the time in school and also the amount of debt that I will accrue. Is all of the debt worth it? I will be entering the profession 10 years "late" and will have that much less time to pay off student loans and save for retirement. Any thoughts?

I appreciate any feedback/comments that you have. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

I have a Masters in Public Health and have worked in the field for 10 years. I enjoy what I do but I am not fulfilled.