Non Trad Questions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

juju44706

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a 25 year old undergrad in a pre med program at my local state school. I started college right out of high school but was unable to stay enrolled because I had no place to live. I was an orphan and had no outside support. I moved around Ohio and GA and enrolled at 3 other schools but couldn't even complete a semester due to having no support and no steady residence. I have since gotten married and have a stable home environment and have taken up the cause again. As of right now my GPA is at a 3.8 and I've done extremely well on the practice MCATs I have taken. I volunteer at the local free clinic 10 hours a week for the past year. And I spent 2 years in the army right after my first years of failed college. I have a few questions about my path.
1. How difficult will it be to get into medical school even with a 3.8 GPA and a MCAT north of 34 seeing as I failed or withdrew from every course I've ever taken before my current school?

2. Will it be more difficult getting in seeing as I'll be 27 when I finish my Undergrad?

3. Will I need to get transcripts from all schools I attended even if I never completed a semester? ( One school refuses to give me one seeing as a balance is owed)

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Hi, I think you have a pretty solid chance at getting accepted somewhere if you keep your GPA up and do well on the MCAT.

1) I would caution you to assume you'll get higher than a 34 on the MCAT, it can be done but don't let your practice tests be too much of a guide on how you'll do. I know plenty of people who did very well on the practice test and not do well on the MCAT; conversely I know people who never got above 30 on the practice tests and scored 35+ on the MCAT. It is a guide, but not much more in my opinion.