Non Trad Student and AACOMAS

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DrLiver

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello All,
I will be reapply this year to DO schools but I have been out of school for 3 years. I'm just an average student 3.4, MCAT 3 times with the highest 22R. Totally sucks. What are the LOR requirements? I've been involved in liver research at UTSW and taking a few classes here and there at the grad school here.

Members don't see this ad.

Most DO schools require the usual pre-med committee letter of rec or individual letters from some professors and a letter from a DO. I think you have a pretty good shot at many of the DO schools. I would stick with TCOM and some of the private schools. Your MCAT is little low but a quick search on SDN and you'll see that many have gained acceptances with lower scores. Your research and committment to medicine will make your applicaiton that much better. However you say that youv'e taken the MCAT three times, did you apply DO in the past? If not they might worry a bit about your confidence in the DO philosophy. Can someone else answer that question?

Hi DrLiver,

At a number of DO schools you will need a letter from a DO that you have either shadowed or who has interviewed you. It has been rough for alot of people this year to find a DO willing to let them shadow due to HIPPA. I met with one for 45 minutes and he interviewed me and then wrote my letter. I faxed him my personal statement and some of the secondary essay questions I had filled out so he could know a bit about me before we talked. I did know about DOs, having been treated by one for most of my childhood years.

I would strongly suggest you get the DO letter as one of your LORs, even for schools that don't require it.