Non-traditional newbie who did not major in psych

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PizzaButt

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello!

I'm a 30-year-old, married non-traditional with a law degree who wants to change careers and apply to PhD and PsyD programs as a second career. I did not major in psych in undergrad--I only took one psych course.

But over the course of the past year when I decided to change careers I've been informational interviewing with clinical psychologists and I decided this is what I want to do as my new career. I also landed a research assistant position at a university in the psychology department, so that is what I do as a full-time job now. I am married so the low income that comes with this job isn't too bad.

I'd like to apply for fall '08. As I understand it (and I'm still learning about what applying to these programs entails) I'll need to do the following things:

1) take the GRE. Are there many times per year that you can take it or is it like the LSAT, just a few times per year? How long does the average person need to study for this? Would 2 months be enough? Should I take Kaplan?

2) Take some pre-reqs. I met with some profs at area PhD programs to discuss and they said I need pre-reqs but said these are different with each program. I've only ever taken one psych course. What pre-reqs do I need, generally? I know stats is one....but what level stats?

3) Get some research experience (my current full-time job is a research assistant in psych dept.) Is that enough?

4) Volunteer experience. I have volunteered in free clinics and hosptials in the past. What should I do now--what kind of volunteer experience would be good?

5) Can I do all this and make the app. deadlines for fall '08? If I start now? Do I need to do anything else?

Thanks so much in advance!

Members don't see this ad.