Non traditional pre-PT considering switching to pre-med HELP

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

itzsommyjr

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, it's my first time posting here in the non-traditional forum. Be gentle, please!

I'm 31 years old and on the cusp of applying to physical therapy school. I graduated from UM-Ann Arbor in 2007 with a BA in psychology and relatively good grades (about a 3.66 GPA). I have all of my PT prerequisite courses completed (4.00 GPA in all of the pre-requisite courses I have taken since returning to school in 2013), have multiple observation settings, have my required letters of recommendation, have been working as a tech/medical transcriptionist at an outpatient orthopedic PT clinic for about seven months, have well-above average GRE scores (162 verbal, 156 quantitative, 5.0 AW). I am planning on applying locally in SE Michigan as my girlfriend moved home from Boston to be with me and I would like to be in proximity to my parents, as they are approaching their seventies, and I would like to be close to them if possible.

I was planning on applying to Wayne State's program for early decision (for which I would have to have in all of the application materials by August 17th). All I need to complete for my application are my essays, which I could conceivably finish this week.

...yet I can't help but think I should take a couple more semesters to complete the rest of the required undergraduate courses for medical school and try to apply to med school or PA school instead.

Why?