Non Traditional Premed

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Biggpremed

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I am looking for some feedback about completing my premed requirements.

I am 24 and graduated in 2008. I have a business degree in supply chain management from Arizona State. I began my career right after graduation and have been working as a purchsing agent for the last two years. I currently live in Flagstaff, AZ. I want to keep the full time position I currently have while completing my premed requirements. This pretty much forces me to attend Northern Arizona University to complete all of the science courses required for premed.

I have a few concerns however:

• Do med schools care about the school you attended for premed as long as it is a four year university? If so how much of a factor is it in their admissions decision?
  • Does anyone have any feedback about the premed program at Northern Arizona University?
  • Would attending a formal post-bacc premed program vs. an informal premed program benifit me? How much? Why?
Any feedback would be helpful. I am planning on taking Biology and Chemistry this fall and working full time while also volunteering four hours a week at the hosptal so it should be nice and busy and I just want to make sure I am investing my time and effort wisely before jumping into this.

Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

Hi,

I am looking for some feedback about completing my premed requirements.

I am 24 and graduated in 2008. I have a business degree in supply chain management from Arizona State. I began my career right after graduation and have been working as a purchsing agent for the last two years. I currently live in Flagstaff, AZ. I want to keep the full time position I currently have while completing my premed requirements. This pretty much forces me to attend Northern Arizona University to complete all of the science courses required for premed.