Non Traditional Route on purpose?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Sociopath

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Well first off I am a traditional college student, 19 finished freshman year.

Basically I need advice because I've lost three days of sleep and no solution to my somewhat unique problem. Here is my situation (long read):

I am the oldest of four sons my mother is a house wife, dad main provider I have a full scholarship to a 4 year university, unfortunately my father over the years of working has damaged a nerve in his leg and is now in chronic pain and is having trouble working. I'll be modest, we are poor and just getting by, and I worked hard for my scholarship so I'm not a burden on my parents.

Unfortunately with my father unable to work this has forced me to take over the family responsibility, I am an aspiring pre-med but lets face it by the time I get out of this process (years from now) I don't know where my family will stand it would be to selfish of me to say tough luck you're on your own.

So I thought I should become a nurse (RN), I get patient exposure while making a living, I'm compassionate and get to "help people". But I can't seem to let go of my dreams, what if I can't make it back on route later in life? What if I get busy or I no longer have the patience for scut work in pre-med. Even if I pushed through and became a doctor what if Obamas healthcare plan cut physician salaries to the point where the years invested in the process seems like a waste? I've been poor (really broke) my whole life I'd like to let my parents and brothers experience a comfortable lifestyle later on and help my folks retire.

Since I'm the first child (everyone knows the test child :laugh:) my brother is capitalizing on my mistakes and he too is a aspiring physician (in highschool planning on B.A - M.D program) where as I decided on a career much later.