Nontrad Speech Speech going into Medicine

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ChampagnePapi22

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello fellow readers!

I'm here to seek wise counsel about a possible change of career fields into medicine. I'm a 24 y/o Speech therapist assistant with approximately 1 year of experience. I've worked in outpatient and private practice settings with mostly the pediatric population. I hated my first job, but that could be a commonality for most of us. However, this past year has been a timeline full of lessons learned about teammwork, ethicality, having a gracious heart, and maintaining professionalism in the work place.

Now reflecting on my previous four years of undergrad, I was a solid (89.5 to be exact haha) B+ student, and of course I could've tried harder. Lets just say I was a late bloomer lol. I didn't get into any grad schools my senior year as expected, so I took a year off and gained some quality experience as an SLP-A. I went into speech pathology because of my interest in the organic and physical ailments like Dysphagia. As an assistant you're not allowed to treat patients with hearing, feeding or swallowing disorders, so your scope is limited to treating expressive and language disorders. The medical setting is out of the picture until I get my Masters, which is why I find myself at a place of disnterest because of my small scope of practice. I'm a natural care-giver and want to serve those who feel the most vulnerable. In April, I did some deep reflecting and made my mind up to start the trek to med school. I planned to start knocking out pre-reqs this fall. AN AMAZING OPPORTUNITY ARISES.