Nontraditional student schedule. Too aggressive?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

NotAngie

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Forgive me if I start asking too many questions, but I'm obsessive planner and I'm trying to get as much information as possible right now and really prepare myself.

I'm a nontraditional student just starting to tackle my prereqs and my experience.

I work full time. I'm going to be volunteering at a vet clinic starting soon, hopefully around 8-10 hours a week.

I plan to start classes this fall if everything works out perfectly, realistically in the spring. Would I be insane to take 2 classes per semester, work full time, and try to continue my experience hours?

I took very minimal science classes in college so I have a lot of credits that I'll need. If I'm as aggressive as I can possibly be and take 2 classes per semester, including summers, I won't finish my pre-reqs until spring of 2012.

The thing is I really need to do well due to my undergrad GPA. I don't want to mess up my grades by cramming in too much. But at the same time I feel like if I CAN do well it will really show my dedication to vet school.

Members don't see this ad.

Everything you said makes sense. If you can keep your grades up and not go insane then yes it will show how hardcore you are. Really it depends on what the classes are and how confident you are with those subjects. It is definitely a feasible, but hectic schedule. Other insane members of this forum have probably completed semesters with even worse schedules, but that doesn't necessarily make it a good idea.

Personally, I require some small amount of free time to maintain my sanity, so I would probably opt to do a little less and take a little longer. But that is just me.