NP/PMHNP Work Culture

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Iamchasingdreams

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I am currently a retail pharmacist and I am seriously considering saving up and switching careers with PMHNP as my final goal. I been scouting the boards and know of others in my profession planning on the switch, but want to know what the day to day looks like for a NP. I live in New York and just have a couple of questions on the job market and the work culture. I see myself graduating and getting credentialed as a PMHNP in the next 6 years. How difficult is it currently to find a job as a new grad in this market, especially if I don't plan on staying at the bedside for long? Would clinical rotations from school be enough? What other opportunities are there to make myself more competitive? Do you get paid for charting time if you are an hourly employee? How do companies treat call outs? Do they call the patients to reschedule their appointment or do you end up getting the other practitioner's patients for the day? Do they pay you extra if you end up going over your normal scheduled work hours in cases like that?

While I would greatly appreciate any feedback from any PMHNPs currently practicing in the NYC area, I am happy to hear all your thoughts! Thank you in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

Hello everyone,