Nurses

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Psai

This space for lease
Removed
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I've been having some trouble with getting some of the nurses to do what I want. I get that I'm an intern and I don't blame them for questioning what I what but it's really annoying when I want something and they don't do it which leads to a bad outcome. I don't like when they question my judgment not because they have a good reason against what I want to do but because they don't have the knowledge base to understand it.

The other side of this is when nurses want something that's not really necessary for patient care but they insist on it. For example, I've been asked repeat labs after a unit of product is given so that they can sign out the numbers to the next nurse. It's a waste of money, time and blood but sometimes I really don't feel up to explaining why I don't want to do what they want, especially if they will just go to the resident or attending and bother them about this nonissue. I'm not a fan of having traintrack vitals or attempting to reach euboxemia just to make the numbers look nice on the chart.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 2 users
So I've been having some trouble with getting some of the nurses to do what I want. I get that I'm an intern and I don't blame them for questioning what I what but it's really annoying when I want something and they don't do it which leads to a bad outcome. I don't like when they question my judgment not because they have a good reason against what I want to do but because they don't have the knowledge base to understand it.