OAT 2016 Experience

edt20

2+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
SDN was one of the most helpful resources I used in preparation for the OAT that I took earlier this month, so I wanted to share my experience--I hope what I share is just as helpful!

I started with a big KAPLAN 2015 OAT book -- I tried to read chapters that matched what I was learning in class, but I found it very difficult to study during the school year. I read some chapters during winter break and over the weekends, but most of my study time was concentrated during the summer a little over a month before I took the OAT.

The month before the OAT I...

...took time off from work. I'm grateful that my employers allowed me to be flexible with my hours while I studied. I started my days at 7 or 8 AM and studied until I went to work at 2PM and studied when I got home basically until I went to bed. I worked 5-15 hours a week, depending on how stressed I felt about the OAT. Find a time of day to study that works best for you -- for me it was mornings, and work became a daily study break.

...took a practice test every week three weeks before the actual exam. The OAT is ~4.5 hours long. It's a mental marathon, so what do you do for a marathon? You train and stretch your endurance! I found it very helpful to set aside a whole day to taking a practice exam. I tried to simulate testing conditions as much as possible -- I used a small dry-erase board, shut myself in a quiet room, and even took the practice exams close to the same time of day when my actual exam was scheduled.

...watched Chad's videos. Thank you so much Chad!!! The bulk of my organic chemistry and general chemistry review consisted of Chad's videos and quizzes. I watched around 4 or 5 videos and did their corresponding quizzes everyday. Chad has a gift of relating to his students and making the material interesting so it sticks in your mind. I highly recommend his site!