Objects in Background of Interview

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Holland

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have some things in the background of my room (sewing stuff, a jazz poster, some Mayan art) that have been visible in Zoom interviews. It’s resulted in a couple fun conversations and brought a little levity to the interviews (and frankly, it burns a little bit of time which I can’t complain about) and I haven’t gotten the sense that they’re excessive. However, I’ve noticed that most of the interviewees I’m with have pretty nondescript backgrounds and I understand that it could be seen as a little unprofessional. I may have just gotten lucky by having interviewers who didn’t mind.

What are you guys’ thoughts on having stuff in the background? Should I take it down/use a space other than my room in the future?

Members don't see this ad.

Members don't see this ad :)
I have some things in the background of my room (sewing stuff, a jazz poster, some Mayan art) that have been visible in Zoom interviews. It’s resulted in a couple fun conversations and brought a little levity to the interviews (and frankly, it burns a little bit of time which I can’t complain about) and I haven’t gotten the sense that they’re excessive. However, I’ve noticed that most of the interviewees I’m with have pretty nondescript backgrounds and I understand that it could be seen as a little unprofessional. I may have just gotten lucky by having interviewers who didn’t mind.

What are you guys’ thoughts on having stuff in the background? Should I take it down/use a space other than my room in the future?
It's not an issue for me. Sometimes it's an icebreaker

Reactions: 2 users