Ochem and Physics for the MCAT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mistatwo

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all. This is my first post and I tried searching for an answer to my question but didn't come up with anything.

I'm a postbacc student and I'm trying to decide how much Ochem and Physics knowledge I will need on the MCAT.

Do I need to finish OChem II and Physics II before I take the MCAT to have all the topics covered? Chem I & II, Bio I & II, Physics I, and Ochem I will all be completed. Any advice would be helpful. Thanks in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

It's been my experience (and the experience of those with whom I have talked) that the Beast is more manageable *after* taking all the pre-reqs; the difficulty is that if you haven't already had the courses, you have to essentially learn *new* material, instead of review *old* material.

I don't think Organic II is a necessity for the MCAT - it wasn't on Form DL of the August MCAT at least. However, some people did report having a lot of organic related passages, whereas I only had two - so, preparing for it won't hurt.

People have done well without taking the pre-requisites; instead of taking the class they taught themselves the material - not everyone can do that. I think it's up to you to determine how you want to learn it, but I guess the key point is that you do learn it.

Members don't see this ad :)
Remember that there are quite a few test forms on test day, so sometimes you will get lucky (no Physics II and no Ochem II) but sometimes you might get caught :thumbdown:

I'd say if you can... take them both. Also, if you can, I would suggest...

Physiology
Genetics
Microbiology
Speed reading and comprehension course :D

Remember that there are quite a few test forms on test day, so sometimes you will get lucky (no Physics II and no Ochem II) but sometimes you might get caught :thumbdown: