OHSU Dental School anybody?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

astein46

DentistWannabe
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm just wondering if anyone on here is planning to go to OHSU. I've done some forum searches and found that the overall vibe of OHSU is that it's not a good school. Anybody have any good reasons for me? I'm a resident of Oregon and would really like to attent my state school. It keeps costs down and I'm planning to practice here anyways, so you might as well try to stay here right?

I'm planning to take the DAT this summer and apply next year. I have a 3.54 overall GPA with a 3.64 in sci. I feel that this is pretty competitive for most schools. I'm volunteering at a Cancer Resource Center at the hospital and working as a Pharmacy Technician. I've also been observing a general practice dentist as well as an endo. It's great fun! Do you think these activities will give me any edge in apply to dental school? Thanks for any help anyone can be.

Members don't see this ad.

Is there anyone one here that is at least from Oregon?

Hey Astein,
I will be starting at OHSU this fall. The main complaint I have heard about the OHSU program is that the students have to do all of their own lab work, which can be very time consuming and frustrating. I think this tends to overshadow other good things about the program. Other than that, I don't think OHSU is so different than other programs, and have heard (keep in mind I have not started, and every program claims this) that OHSU turns out dentists with great clinical skills, so if you want to do general dentistry it is a great school to attend. I have to admit, I am a little worried about the lab work at the school as well, and have been applying (without much success) to dental labs to try to get extra experience before I am thrown into it with the extra workload on top of it.