NeuroDO

Neuro, D.O.
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Feb 23, 2005
New Haven, CT
Status
So I guess TUCOM Mare Island requires trunks/no shirt for males and a bathing suit for females. Which other schools require females to wear a sports bra & shorts or bathing suit and require males to not wear a shirt? Can we compile a list?

This got buried in the DO Uniform thread, so I'm posting it under this title.

jonb12997

I'm a doctor!!
15+ Year Member
Jul 31, 2003
Wherever I go, that's where the party's at!
Status
Attending Physician
at UNE, depending on what you're doing that day you can get away with jeans and a t-shirt... if we're doing hip/leg/knee stuff you need to be wearing shorts or sweats. They'll say at the beginning you have to wear shorts and t-shirts, and they'll be strict for the first month or so, but after that they get pretty lax...

Fin-Nor

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Jan 16, 2003
South Side
Visit site
Status
Resident [Any Field]
y ppl have an issue with this, i have no idea...

how do you expect to palpate someone if they have all their layering of clothes on? all school probably require in one form or fashion that guys wear shorts and tshirt. when time calls, you take that shirt off and have someone palpate you.

same for girls, except that they wear sports bras. no big deal.

when you're done, put it back on.

C

Chronotropic

Doesn't matter what the dress code is, because at some point you'll be taking off your shirt so you can be palpated.
I know that some people are uncomfortable with it and theres nothing wrong with that. But just know that the whole lab is very professional.

DrMom

Official Mom of SDN
Moderator Emeritus
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Apr 24, 2002
wherever I go, there I am
Status
Attending Physician
At OSUCOM, we wear scrubs to lab. Women wear sports bras and everyone occasionally has to remove shirts. Honestly, I can't think of anytime after first semester when we did, though.

Marianne11

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member