Ophthalmology Residency - What are my chances?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Cucumber Richard

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello SDN community,

I'm a third year med student who's recently been contemplating applying to an ophtho residency (TLDR - Feel free to skip intro to bullets for a summary of my app).

I've been fairly set on psychiatry for most of my med school career for a handful of reasons chiefly ability to help psych patients, many of which face a huge stigma, to have the ability to be independent from a hospital later in my career, the lifestyle, a love of neurology manifest as behavior and cognition, and an interest in emerging psych modalities, such as TMS and psychedelic therapies.