Opt School Chances of Acceptance

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted878916

Hey guys, so I'm a little concerned with my chances of getting into an optometry school (specifically MCPHS). I'm a junior and I am going to graduate Fall 2019 with hopefully a 3.0 or 2.9. I'm a neuroscience major with a minor in Education at a good/competitive state university (hence my sad GPA). I did very well in HS with a 4.0, lots of extra curricular, recommendation, SATs etc. I graduated 3rd amongst about 300 students from a very diverse school. That helped me get into a good Ivy league, but I opted for a cheaper state university. Recently I figured that I'd take most of my pre-reqs for optometry school at community colleges over summer so at least that will be a much higher GPA. (Bio- A+/B+, Chem- B/B-, Orgo- C+,N/A, Phys- N/A, Calc- A-, Psyc stats and Regular stats- B+). The C+ B, and B- unfortunately were taken at my college. I'll have okay recommendation letters, a couple of extra curriculars here and there.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited by a moderator:
Unfortunately, the difficulty of a school is never taken into consideration. A 3.0 at Harvard will be valued the same as a 3.0 at any other school. Your high school experience will not matter at all.

Do some more extracurriculars, prove you really want to be an optometrist, and try your best on the OAT.

Reactions: 1 user