Optometry or echocardiography

This forum made possible through the generous support of
SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Coolscreenname

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am in a situation where I can either go become an echocardiographer (aka ultra sound tech working in a heart clinic or hospital) OR I can do any type of career. I have deeply considered Optometry.

I originally went to school for actuarial and did that for a while. I worked in the field for a couple of years, but it did not work out for me for various reasons. I have the opportunity to switch and do anything I want. I am in my late twenties and I have no family obligations. School will be 100% paid for. I am very strong in the sciences (chem, physics, bio, math).

I thought Optometry would be a good choice for me, considering I could use more higher level cognitive skills through school and on the job. Echocardiography, on the other hand, would only take me 2.5 years. The pay is 50-80k a year and finding a job isn't too difficult. Only drawback is that it is a technical career and I feel like I could get bored easily since I really don't get to use higher cognitive skills.

So, if Optometry school would not cost me a dime and I could do it, do you think it would be financially feasible and give me career happiness?

The thing I worry about would be:

1. find a job somewhere
2. not being laid off
3. making enough money to live
4. not having to be a businessman/marketer

Basically, can you make good money in the field (take loans out of the equation)? Is there good job security? Do you have to be a businessman/salesman to be successful?

Candid answers are GREATLY appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

I am in a situation where I can either go become an echocardiographer (aka ultra sound tech working in a heart clinic or hospital) OR I can do any type of career. I have deeply considered Optometry.