Organic Chemistry in the Summer?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Rick Harrison

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone, I am a freshman attending a small university with about 2,000 students and so far I don't like my school at all. I haven't found any clubs I am interested in and I can't relate to many of the students here because a large majority only came to school for athletics. Because my family lives an hour away, I tend to go home every weekend and keep to myself. I'm interested in transferring schools next semester to Illinois State University as I think the larger school would help me find my identity as not only a student but a person through a multitude of clubs I can join to meet new people.

Anyway, due to how the classes are going to transfer between schools, only 1 semester of my general biology is going to transfer. I am planning on majoring in molecular and cellular biology, so this will put me a semester behind for my major as both semesters are general biology are pre-requisites to every major course. Do you guys think it would be a good idea to take organic chemistry I this summer at Illinois State so I could take organic chemistry II my fall semester of sophomore year? This would allow me to double up biology courses the spring semester of my sophomore year without having to worry about the rigor of organic chemistry II on top of that. Any advice would help! Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

Well there are a lot of factors. First off, being at a small school isn't necessarily a bad thing, you could start a few clubs and gain a lot of leadership experience easily compared to a larger university. However, I do understand going to a small school without many like minded people is probably tough.